The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank (12 years and over)

51OCuh91mHL._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_

Title: The Diary of a Young Girl: Definitive Edition.

Author: Anne Frank.

Year of publication: 2007 (UK).

Publisher: Puffin (UK)..

Website: http://www.annefrank.org

Format: Available in paperback, an ebook, and an audiobook.

Cost for Paperback (RRP): £7.99 (UK).

Age Range: I suggest from about 12 up, if you’re younger than this I suggest asking your parents first.

 

Like most people, I first learned about Anne Frank in history lessons at high school, but it was a few years after that when I first read her famous diary, and I wish I had read it sooner.

Most of you will already know who Anne Frank was, and why she is famous, so I won’t go into too much detail; other than to say that she is the most famous victim of the Holocaust, and her diary is the account of her time in hiding before being caught and sent to the concentration camps to die.

It is a book which has inspired me ever since I first picked it up, and one that I will continue to re-read my entire life; no matter how many times it breaks my heart. It is the diary of a young girl learning to grow up in the most extreme circumstances, and trying to figure out who she is with a level of self-reflection most adults don’t achieve. ultimately Anne never survived the war, but her diary did, and in her death she was able to overcome fascism by inspiring millions of people around the world to be more tolerant and accepting of the people around them.

It is a book I would urge everyone to read, because even though it is painful to read how dark the world can be it is a reminder that hope lives on, and sometimes all we have is hope.

 

“I don’t think of all the misery, but of all the beauty that still remains.” Anne Frank.

Leave a Reply

