Tortoise Diaries Part One

DSCF2866

A lot of you keep asking me how Izzy is doing, so I thought I’d let you all know.

She is growing really well, and loves her food, A LOT as you can see from the photo above

I have even got her a new house, which is bigger and better built than the original. I was worried that she didn’t like it at first, because she spent a few days doing nothing but trying to get out, and barely eating anything, but she seems to like it now. Tortoises don’t like change, so it just took her some time to get used to it. She walks through the tunnel a lot, and likes to sit under the heat lamp to sunbath. Getting this also means that I had to move a lot of things around in my room so that it would fit.

IMG_0041

She also loves going outside in the back garden, so I got her this:

DSCF2858 DSCF2855

DSCF2857

It’s actually a rabbit run, but I am using it as a tortoise run. She doesn’t spend long in there, as she would much rather be free to walk around where ever she wants, but it means I have somewhere to keep her safe if I don’t have the time to constantly watch her. It says “Izzy’s Place. No Dogs Allowed” because my dog doesn’t like her and tries to eat her any chance he gets. Plus I put a little tunnel in there for her to hide in.

When she goes to sleep at night, she digs herself either a little hole or a tunnel for a bed, like this:

DSCF2722 IMG_0032

Her favourite food is lettuce, watercress, and dandelion leaves, and she also likes sprouts and cabbage as treats (tortoises shouldn’t eat to much of these).

I also got this from a pet shop to put on my bedroom door because I thought it was funny:

DSCF2867

And this is my favourite photo of her I’ve taken so far; taken inside a little tunnel I got for inside her tortoise table:

IMG_0039 IMG_0040

I hope you have all liked this little post, as Izzy is very special to me. I take good care of her, and love her to pieces.

 

“Hope is a waking dream.” Aristotle.

Thestral.

4 thoughts on “Tortoise Diaries Part One

Leave a Reply

