Grandfarther

Nana and Granddad

As a lot of you know, my grandfather died just under two weeks ago after losing his battle with cancer. He was only 78 years old, and will be missed by everyone who knew him.

Yesterday was his funeral, and I was proud to see that the Church was full of people wanting to pay their final respects to him. I spoke the Eulogy, which was tough, but I am glad I did it. Now my grandfather is at rest, and reunited with my grandmother and aunt, and the other family and friends he had lost of the years.

The photo at the top of the page is of my grandparents, my grandmother having died over 20 years ago from heart problems. I like this photo of them a lot because they look so happy, and I wanted to share it with you.

Apple-Mountaineering-Instructor-Ken-Applegate-MIC-Ice-Winter-Climbing-Observatory-Buttress-Ben-Nevis-0001

I know plan to climb Ben Nevis (Beinn Nibheis) in the Highlands of Scotland, which is the highest mountain in the UK at 1,344 meters/4,409 feet in aid of Cancer Research UK. It is a charity that is trying to cure all cancers, so one I would like to support, because I feel no one should have to suffer as my grandfather did. I will start planning soon, as it is not an easy mountain to climb, and I will keep you all updated on my plans.

 

“It is not death that a man should fear, but he should fear never beginning to live.” Marcus Aurelius.

Thestral.

2 thoughts on “Grandfarther

  1. Perenelle

    Beautiful Thesi 🙂 I hope your grandfather is at peace now, surrounded by the people he lost and loves. I bet he would be really proud knowing you are planning to climb Ben Nevis. Good luck on your preparations!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

