Pottermore Update One

pottermore

As most of you will be aware by now, Pottermore has undergone a very big change. We can no longer leave comments in our Common Rooms or Great Hall, or anywhere on the site for that matter. We also can no longer have a status, or upload drawings.

Pottermore has done this because they say they are trying to keep the site safe for younger people. I however don’t see how taking the comment sections away is safer, because now people will use alternative sites to chat which may not be moderated, and may not have people to make sure everyone is safe.

I don’t know if this change will be permanent or not, I only hope that it isn’t and they provide an alternative.

In the mean time I am going to write a letter to both Pottermore and JK Rowling telling them that this action has upset a lot of people and ruined a lot of friendships in the hope that they will change their minds. I urge everyone reading this to do the same, as the more letters they receive the better, and it will help to show them just how strongly we all feel about it. It will be like we’re in Dumbledore’s Army, standing up for what we believe in.

Letters to Pottermore should be addressed to:

Pottermore Limited

Devonshire House

1, Devonshire Street

London

W1W 5DR

England

Letters to JK Rowling should be addressed to:

J.K.Rowling

Bloomsbury Publishing

38, Soho Square

London

W1D 3HB

England

I have also created an online petition calling for some kind of comments/chat system to be reinstated on Pottermore. You can sign it at: www.ipetitions.com/petition/bring-back-comments-and-status-on-pottermore You can use your Pottermore name instead of your real name if you wish, and no one will be able to see your email address, not even me. My friend Wren also has started a petition, so please also sign that. It can be found at www.change.org/p/pottermore-restitute-the-chatrooms-and-account-status-on-pottermore?recruiter=153847785&utm_source=share_petition&utm_medium=facebook&utm_campaign=share_facebook_responsive&utm_term=des-lg-share_petition-no_msg&fb_ref=Default

I am on both Watt Pad and Facebook, and I have found a few places such as chat rooms and communities online, which you can use to try and find friends Pottermore will no longer let you talk to. You can find out more about them Chat/Connect Page at the top of the page. Don’t forget you can also leave messages here on the messages page.

And don’t worry, this blog is continuing as normal.

 

Thestral.

69 thoughts on “Pottermore Update One

  1. Blossom

    Hogwarts is no longer there to welcome us home… Noone is… Unless you count updates on how many dried billywings your friends have collected that day…

    My nickname on Pottermore was Blossom and my PM name was NewtCat7473. Please, if we were friends add me on Facebook (I suggest you make an account for pottermore purposes ) my Facebook name is Cato Blossom and I’m friends with Thesi.

    I miss my common room, I miss my friends.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Double Reed

    I MISS MY FRIENDS TOO😭I got tears in my eyes when I read the notification on Pottermore!!!!!!! Why did they have to do this😭

    Like

    Reply
  3. Icy

    how’s this I’m a user here’s my side of the new changes No No No!!!!!!! I mean we can’t roleplay or do anything fun (I can’t duel or brew to save Merlin) I miss my friend more now I’m crying

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Choir Girl

    I saw your post first and kept thinking that it couldnt be true. So I rushed to my computer and saw it. I still cant believe it, I know they want it to be safe for younger users but this is crazy! 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Icy

    I really am mad I mean its not fair I miss Nova Vanilla Ice Wombats my twin I see her daily but I miss arrow and Everyone else

    Like

    Reply
  6. Firebolt

    I know!!! I miss my friends too!! I just found out about the changes today cause I haven’t been on in a while. I was so looking forward to seeing my friends but now I cant 😭😭😭

    Like

    Reply
  7. Double Reed

    Thesi, I don’t want to pressure you if you haven’t done this, but have you created a chat room other than this one? I thought you said you would, but maybe I was wrong, idk. I just miss chatting with all of my Ravenclaw friends:(

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

