Happy New Year 2014

giphy

2014 has had it’s up’s and downs for all of us, but no matter what 2014 was like for you I hope 2015 will be even better. I have so many great friends on Pottermore, and you’ve all been truly amazing to follows of this blog. THANK YOU!

The Scottish song/poem ‘Auld Lang Syne’ is often sung at the stroke of midnight to bring in a new year, though some of you won’t know what it means. In English, “auld lang syne” means “for old times sake” (auld lang syne is Scottish Gaelic, a completely different language to English, rarely spoken outside Scotland). And on a night when most are thinking of the year ahead and making resolutions they won’t keep, they don’t always think enough about the year that is ending, often because it’s so sad they would rather forget it. But that is what the song is for, what it means. I have lost people I love dearly, through several devastating ways, and for me New Years Eve is when I raise a glass to them, and honour them, “for old times sake”, because they still live in my heart and give me strength.

When Harry Potter went to face Voledemort in the Forbidden Forrest, he didn’t enter that forest alone. All the people who he had lost were still with him, and it turned out they never left. They were with him, ALWAYS! As I enter 2015, I know the people I have lost aren’t really lost to me at all, but still with me in my heart. With their help, I will be a better person, and I wish the same for all of you.

 

Happy New Year everyone.

“Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.” Dr. Seuss.

Thestral.

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year 2014

  1. Arabella

    I read this way to late but anyway, thank you for this sweet and inspiring piece of writing. I couldn’t agree more 🙂 I wish you a very very happy and healthy 2015 and i hope we’ll stay friends for many more years 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

