Heir of Night

Title: Heir of Fire.

Author: Sarah J. Maas.

Year of Publication: 2014 (UK).

Publisher: Bloomsbury (UK).

Website: http://www.sarahjmaas.com

Format: Available in paperback, an ebook, and an audiobook.

Cost for Paperback (RRP): £7.99 (UK).

Age Range: I suggest from about 14 up, if you’re younger than this I suggest asking your parents first.

This book is the third book in a series called Throne of Glass.

*If you’re buying this in the UK, buy it from Waterstones as they have an exclusive short story called The Assassin and The Princess included at the end of the book. I’m guessing that other bookstores, in other countries, have a similar thing.


I have quickly become a fan of this series, and it’s author; Celaena has become one of the greatest characters I have ever read. She is fantastic, because she is flawed; which makes her very human, despite her heritage, so I love reading her story. I finished reading this an hour ago, and couldn’t wait to tell you guys about it.

At the end of the last book, Chaol- the captain of the Guard -has hatched a plan to send Celaena far away from her enemies in an attempt to keep her safe, by convincing the King to send her on a mission to a Kingdom across the sea, not realising that as a servant of the King it was the worst possible place to send her, because she might not come back. Celaena has no intention of completing her mission, but has no idea how to fake the deaths of her high profile targets without letting the King know what she’s been up to.

This isn’t the only problem Celaena’s faces when she arrives in the land of her ancestors: She needs answers if she’s ever going to be able to stop the King’s evil power, but the only people who might be able to give them are reluctant. Instead, she is forced to endure tests and training that reveal more about Celaena’s true identity under the ever watchful, and ruthless, eye of the Fae Prince Rowan.

This book is a lot darker than the first two books, and as the Celaena is so well written we go to the dark places with her. Anyone who’s been through hard times will tell you that when you come out at the other end it changes you, and we see Celaena changing as we continue on her story. She is becoming the person her friend Nehemia (from the previous two books) knew was buried somewhere deep inside herself; as the past ten years of torture and hell are stripped back.

The climax of the book comes when Celaena must use all that she has learned to defend the people who have become her friends from the King she is supposed to serve. Celaena is now well and truly on a path she has been trying to run away from her whole life.

From what I can tell there will be a book four in the series, although I have no idea what it will be called or when it will be released, but I think it’s quite clear that when Celaena returns the King won’t stand a chance against her. Checking out the authors website (above) for updates will be the best way to find out more. I really hope I don’t have to wait too long.

On the plus side, a collection of novellas called The Assassin’s Blade is already available, which tells the story of Celaena’s life in the 10 years before the events of the fist book. I’ll be reading them as soon as I can, and I hope you all do to.


“The two most important days in your life are the day you are born and the day you find out why.” Mark Twain.



P.S.- For anyone interested, you can buy jewellery inspired by the series; info about this can be found on the authors website (above).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s